Quick Links

Useful Links

GSO Test


Characters have been created for each area of SMSC.  This enables all children, from Foundation stage to Year 6, to better understand and identify the areas of SMSC by linking the character to the themed area ie  M = Moral Myrtle who knows the difference between right and wrong. 


Being Culturally Aware 


•Appreciate cultural influences; appreciate the role of Britain's parliamentary system; participate in culture opportunities; understand, accept, respect and celebrate diversity.

•Ofsted definition of 'cultural development'



Being Morally Aware


•Recognise right and wrong; respect the law; understand consequences; investigate moral and ethical issues; offer reasoned views.

•Ofsted definition of 'moral development'



Being Socially Aware


•Use a range of social skills; participate in the local community; appreciate diverse viewpoints; participate, volunteer and cooperate; resolve conflict; engage with the 'British values' of democracy, the rule of law, liberty, respect and tolerance.

•Ofsted definition of 'social development'



Being Spiritually Aware


•Explore beliefs and experience; respect faiths, feelings and values; enjoy learning about oneself, others and the surrounding world; use imagination and creativity; reflect.

•Ofsted definition of 'spiritual development'